IRS Extends Tax Deadline For Those In Earthquake Disaster Area

first_imgIndividuals who reside or have a business in the Municipality of Anchorage, Kenai Peninsula Borough and Matanuska-Susitna Borough may qualify for tax relief. In addition, penalties on payroll and excise tax deposits due on or after Nov. 30, 2018, and before Dec. 17, 2018, will be abated as long as the deposits were made by Dec. 17, 2018. But affected taxpayers who reside or have a business located outside the covered disaster area must call the IRS disaster hotline at 866-562-5227 to request this tax relief. For more details visit the official IRS website. This includes 2018 individual income tax returns and payments normally due on April 15, 2019. It also includes the quarterly estimated income tax payments due on Jan. 15, 2019 and April 15, 2019 and the quarterly payroll and excise tax returns normally due on Jan. 31, 2019. Facebook0TwitterEmailPrintFriendly分享Alaska residents impacted by the November 30 earthquake may qualify for tax relief from the Internal Revenue Service. The President has declared that a major disaster occurred in the State of Alaska. Following the recent disaster declaration for individual assistance issued by the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the IRS announced today that affected taxpayers in certain areas will receive tax relief. The declaration permits the IRS to postpone certain deadlines for taxpayers who reside or have a business in the disaster area. For instance, certain deadlines falling on or after Nov. 30, 2018 and before April 30, 2019, are granted additional time to file through April 30, 2019.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *