2011 Golden i Award Finalist Announced

first_imgThe Visitor Centre Association of Western Australia (VCAWA) is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2011 West Australian Newspapers Golden i Award.Five nominations were received from across the State and included Barbara Hugill (Kalbarri), Danielle Robertson (Kalgoorlie), Justine Nagorski (Denmark), Natasha Mahar (Broome) and Yvonne Bradfield (Armadale).The desktop assessments have now been completed by the judging panel and according to the Chair of the panel, Robyn Fenech “The standard of this year’s entrants was terribly high and our judges were simply amazed to see what these Visitor Centre Managers are achieving considering the resources they are working with. It’s always very encouraging to see the passion and dedication within the Visitor Servicing industry in WA”.Of these five nominations, the judges have advised there are two (2) entrants who have been selected as finalists. These include Danielle Robertson from the Kalgoorlie Visitor Centre and Justine Nagorski from the Denmark Visitor Centre.Both Danielle and Justine will now participate in a telephone interview with the judging panel and the winner of the 2011 West Australian Newspapers Golden i Award will receive a cash prize of $1,000 thanks to the West Australian Newspapers.West Regional Newspaper Group General Manager Ian Jones said “The company through its regional network was closely aligned with the aspirations of local communities. We are very pleased to be associated with this award and congratulate all those who work so hard to make the tourism experience extraordinary in WA. In particular, I congratulate Danielle and Justine for their outstanding efforts on behalf of their local communities”.The winner will also receive a free registration to the 2012 Visitor Servicing Conference as well as taking home the perpetual trophy and a small replica to keep.The 2011 West Australian Newspapers Golden i Award winner will be announced as part of the Top Tourism Award Gala Dinner on Thursday the 20th of October in Kununurra, which forms part of the Annual Visitor Servicing Conference.For further information on the 2011 West Australian Newspapers Golden i Award, Top Tourism Award Dinner or for the Annual Visitor Servicing Conference please contact the Dee Smith, Executive Officer on 1800 134 112. Source = Visitor Centre Association of Western Australia (VCAWA)last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *